jump to navigation

De Mention of the dimensions September 5, 2006

Posted by shootingcipher in Physics.
trackback

I remember having read a book “This Fascinating Astronomy” when I was 13 years old. It was a remnant of the books that came out of the erstwhile USSR to India at absurdly low prices (with respect to their excellent binding and paper quality) and after that my life was never the same (Will write a piece sometime about Sputnik,Misha, Science in the USSR etc one day maybe). It was the first time I came to know that there could be such a thing as the 4th dimension and although I could not grasp it fully until I was 16 (and finished reading the Brief Histoory of Time once) I was absolutely enchanted that there could be a basis for a time machine after all. And ofcourse countless daydreams later I am still enamoured of Astronomy. Alas I never pursued the subject academically (except the initial senior high school physics and engineering physics in the initial years) and immersed 6 years of my life in computer science.
But still this will be a lifelong pursuit to read and wonder about quntum physics/astrophysics I hope. Now to come to the point, string theory sugests that all matter is generated by substrings vibrating in the 10th dimension. When I had heard this I thought just how could the theorists imagine the 10th dimension when visualizing the 4th was a mind-bender.
Well fear not, as this absolutely amazing flash animation will explan in a manner so lucid that I could cry. And when one reads this, very few will remain unmoved by what it implies.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

